Skip navigation

AUCC welcomes two new members


Two universities joined the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada in October – the Canadian Mennonite University based in Winnipeg and Kwantlen Polytechnic University in Vancouver.

Kwantlen has four campuses serving 9,500 full-time students pursuing degrees in the South Fraser region of B.C. Established in 1981, it gained official university status this past September (it was previously a university-college). Kwantlen offers citation, certificate, diploma, and degree programs in liberal arts and science disciplines, in trades and technology, and in career and professional fields.

Canadian Mennonite University, or CMU, is a Christian faith-based university that offers degrees in the arts, music, music therapy, theology and church ministries. Its full- and part-time enrolment of about 1,600 students is spread across several campuses in Winnipeg.

The two institutions bring to 94 the number of members in AUCC.  The Ottawa-based association advocates for higher education with the federal government on behalf of its member universities. It is also the publisher of University Affairs. To become a member of AUCC, institutions must meet a number of criteria in areas including academic freedom, governance and curriculum and must have a track record in teaching, research and scholarship.

Post a comment
University Affairs moderates all comments according to the following guidelines. If approved, comments generally appear within one business day. We may republish particularly insightful remarks in our print edition or elsewhere.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *