Skip navigation
People on the Move

Announcements – April 2018

BY ANQI SHEN | APR 01 2018

Mount Allison University has named Jean-Paul Boudreau its next president and vice-chancellor, with his first five-year term beginning July 1. A proud Acadian who grew up in Moncton, Dr. Boudreau joins Mount Allison from Ryerson University, where he is a professor of psychology and serves as special adviser and executive lead for social innovation. Prior to that, he was Ryerson’s dean of the faculty of arts and chair of the department of psychology. A developmental scientist, Dr. Boudreau holds a PhD in psychology from Tufts University, in Boston, and is a fellow with the Canadian Psychological Association. Passionate about community engagement, Dr. Boudreau is also an award-winning educator who has created unique experiential learning opportunities for students.

On March 1, the University of Lethbridge welcomed Trisha Henschel the new executive director of its Calgary campus. Originally from Winnipeg, Ms. Henschel is an educational manager who brings more than 14 years of postsecondary operational and leadership experience to the role. She was most recently the manager of undergraduate programs in the Werklund School of Education at the University of Calgary.

McGill University has promoted Regina Husa from director to assistant dean, accreditation, postgraduate medical education, in the faculty of medicine. A cardiologist, Dr. Husa served for six years as co-director of McGill’s adult cardiology residency program. From 2006 to 2014, Dr. Husa was also director of the coronary care unit at the Jewish General Hospital.

Geoffrey Payne has been appointed vice-president, research and graduate programs, at the University of Northern British Columbia. Dr. Payne, who has held the position on an interim basis since September 2015, began his term on March 19. He came to UNBC in 2004 as a founding faculty member with the Northern Medical Program following a postdoctoral fellowship at Yale University in the department of cellular and molecular physiology and John B. Pierce Laboratory.

Carleton University has appointed Charles Macdonald dean of the faculty of science for a five-year term starting Aug. 1. Dr. Macdonald is currently head of the department of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Windsor, after serving there as acting dean of science from 2015 to 2016 and associate dean of science responsible for graduate studies from 2010 to 2017. Dr. Macdonald holds a BSc and PhD from Dalhousie University.

John Brown has been appointed dean of the University of Calgary’s faculty of environmental design, effective March 1. Dr. Brown has been an academic staff member in the faculty for more than 30 years, serving as interim dean since May 2017 and previously as associate dean, research and international. He is a registered architect and fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada. He is a founding principal of the design firm Housebrand and a co-founder of Slow Home, an international movement advocating for increased design quality in North America’s housing market.

Irfan Chaudhry is MacEwan University’s first director of the office of human rights, diversity and equity, as of Feb. 26. Dr. Chaudhry has taught sociology and criminology at MacEwan for the past eight years. Beyond his teaching responsibilities, he has worked on human rights policies for the City of Edmonton and the Edmonton Police Service, while also sitting on the Alberta Hate Crimes Committee.

Carleton University has named Pauline Rankin dean of the faculty of arts and social sciences, starting July 1. Dr. Rankin is currently on administrative leave from her position as associate vice-president, research and international. She is a political scientist and a professor in the school of Indigenous and Canadian studies. Her research spans various aspects of gender and politics, with specific interest in domestic and global applications of gender mainstreaming and gender activism.

Jill Wyatt is the new chair of the board of governors at the University of Calgary. She served two terms on the senate at U of C and has been a public member of the board for one year. Ms. Wyatt has also served as chief executive officer of the YWCA of Calgary and vice-president of community investments and collaborations with United Way of Calgary and area. She has received many commendations and awards, including the YWCA Woman of Distinction Award, the Paul Harris Rotary Fellow Award, the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Award and the Alberta Centennial Medal.

The University of Waterloo has appointed James Rush its next vice-president, academic, and provost, effective July 1. Dr. Rush is currently the dean of the faculty of applied health sciences at U of Waterloo, where he has held number of roles including associate dean of graduate studies and research, associate chair of graduate studies, and chair of the department of kinesiology.

The University of Alberta’s next vice-president, research, will be Matthias Ruth, who is currently professor and director of Northeastern University’s school of public policy and urban affairs, in Boston. He will begin his new duties May 1. A social scientist with a PhD in geography, Dr. Ruth was also trained as an economist, studied physics, biology and engineering along the way, and has an appointment in a civil engineering department.

Jerome Cranston will become the University of Regina’s dean of education, effective July 1. Dr. Cranston is presently the executive director, student engagement and academic success, and associate professor of educational administration, at the University of Manitoba. Previously, he was associate dean, undergraduate programs, in the faculty of education at U of M, where he also serves on the advisory board and as a research affiliate for the Centre for Human Rights Research.

Since Feb. 1, Angela Mashford-Pringle is the new associate director of the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health at the University of Toronto. She will also begin an academic appointment as assistant professor of social and behavioural health sciences at the U of T’s Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Before joining the institute in 2016 as a research associate, Dr. Mashford-Pringle worked at the Peel District School Board, St. Michael’s Hospital’s Well Living House and at the Public Health Agency of Canada, where she managed the Aboriginal Head Start Urban and Northern Communities Program.

Deborah Brown is Ryerson University’s new vice-president, administration and operations, effective Jan. 29. She joins Ryerson from Mohawk College where, since 2014, she served as the vice-president, corporate services. Ms. Brown has also worked in senior leadership positions in the Ontario government, most recently as the acting chief administrative officer and assistant deputy minister at Treasury Board Secretariat. She serves on the board of directors for the YWCA of Hamilton and is a special adviser to “Escalator: Jobs for Youths Facing Barriers,” an initiative by the Toronto-based, non-profit organization CivicAction.

Kwantlen Polytechnic University has named Rajiv Jhangiani special adviser to the provost on open education. Dr. Jhangiani is a faculty member in the department of psychology. A recent KPU Teaching Fellow on Open Education, he is currently an ambassador for the Center for Open Science, based in Charlottesville, Virginia. He has served in various research and advocacy capacities with BCcampus, the Open Education Group and the Open Textbook Network.

Post a comment
University Affairs moderates all comments according to the following guidelines. If approved, comments generally appear within one business day. We may republish particularly insightful remarks in our print edition or elsewhere.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *