Skip navigation
People on the Move

Announcements – April 2020


Nadine Caron is the holder of the founding First Nations Health Authority Chair at the University of British Columbia. In her new role, she will examine the unique needs of Indigenous cancer patients, survivors and their families and work to better understand the healthcare system’s responsiveness to Indigenous cancer needsDr. Caron is Canada’s first female Indigenous general surgeon and has taught in UBC’s faculty of medicine

Algoma University announced Craig Fowler as the new principal of the university’s Brampton campus. Mr. Fowler was most recently associate vice-president of innovation, research partnerships and economic development at Laurentian University. He also served as associate vice-president, administration and external relations, at Laurentian and oversaw administrative operations, student recruitment and marketing at the university’s Barrie campus.  

Michelle McGinn was appointed Brock University’s associate vice-president, research, as of Jan. 1. Dr. McGinn had served as interim associate vice-president, research, since May 2018. Before this, she held the position of associate dean, graduate student services, research and international, in Brock’s faculty of education.  

Natalie Coulter is the new director of York University’s Institute for Research on Digital Learning (IRDL)Dr. Coulter is a professor in the department of communication studies in the faculty of liberal arts and professional studies at YorkShe is also a founding member of the Association for Research on the Cultures of Young People. The IRDL is a university-based research unit on the uses of technology in teaching and learning.  

Wendy Duffdean of the faculty of information at the University of Toronto, has had her appointment extended for 18 months to June 30, 2021. She was first appointed dean in 2016 and during her time in the role oversaw the development of the faculty’s bachelor of information program. Dr. Duff teaches archives and records management, with a focus on access to archival materials and social justice. 

Simon Fraser University has appointed Joy Johnson its new president, starting on Sept. 1. Dr. Johnson has held her current role as vice-president, research and international, at SFU since 2014She is an elected fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Before coming to SFU, Dr. Johnson was a professor at the University of British Columbia’s school of nursingHer research focused on how environments and social dynamics influence health outcomes and opportunities, particularly in youth. 

St. Thomas University announced the extension of the term of its president Dawn Russell for two years. She was appointed president on July 1, 2011 and will now continue in the role until June 30, 2023. PreviouslyMs. Russell served as dean of the Schulich School of Law at Dalhousie University for 10 years, and was an associate lawyer with Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales.   

Thompson River University appointed Brian Daly its new vice-president, university relations, starting May 1. Mr. Daly is currently the president and chief executive officer for the University of Winnipeg Foundation, a position he has held since 2011. Before this, he was the director of fundraising at the University of Victoria and the director of development for a number of charitable organizations in Manitoba, including the Canadian Diabetes Association and the Salvation Army.  

Since Jan. 1, the G. Raymond Chang School of Continuing Education at Ryerson University has a new deanGary Hepburn. Dr. Hepburn came to Ryerson from the University of Manitoba, where he was dean, division of extended educationBefore this, he was the director of academic programming and delivery at the University of the West Indies’ open campus and oversaw the development and delivery of online undergraduate and graduate programming.  

Joanne Dallaire, Ryerson University’s longtime campus elder, has been appointed to a new leadership position at the university as elder and senior advisor – Indigenous relations and reconciliationMs. Dallaire has served as an educator and counsellor for many organizations, including the federal ministry of health, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health and First Nations and social services agencies.  

On Feb. 10, John Papadopolous began his tenure as the inaugural head law librarian at Ryerson University. In this new role, Mr. Papadopolous will be responsible for building a law library branch for Ryerson’s law school. Mr. Papadopolous previously spent six years as chief law librarian at the University of Toronto’s Bora Laskin Law Library. 

Ana Serrano is OCAD University’s next president and vice-chancellor, beginning July 1Ms. Serrano is currently the chief digital officer of the Canadian Film Centre (CFC)She is an adjunct professor at OCAD U and led the formation of its graduate program in digital futures – a partnership between the university and CFC  that began in 2011 

Keri Damen was appointed the executive director of the Hunter Hub for Entrepreneurial Thinking at the University of Calgary, effective March 1. In this position, Ms. Damen will steer the development and execution of entrepreneurial initiatives at U of CShe comes to Calgary after serving as the inaugural managing director of the University of Toronto Entrepreneurship community. 

Farzana Crocco was named the first executive director of Brock LINC at Brock University, as of Jan. 20Ms. Crocco served as the manager of strategic marketing in Niagara Region’s economic development department. Before that, she was the director of marketing and enrolment management at York University. Brock LINC, which stands for learning, innovation, network and collaboration, is a new centre at Brock for innovation, research and entrepreneurship.  

Brock University has a new ombudspersonKelly Barker, since Feb. 3. Ms. Barker has served as in-house counsel for two major Ontario police services as well as two child protective agencies. Her appointment at Brock comes at the same time as a new mandate for the ombuds office. Previously, the office had been operated by Brock University Students’ Union; this year, the university has joined the student union and Brock’s Graduate Students’ Association as a funding partner.  

Acadia University named Ian Spooner director of research at the K.C. Irving Environmental Science Centre and Harriet Irving Botanical Gardens. Dr. Spooner has been a professor in Acadia’s earth and environmental science department for more than 25 years. He was recently awarded the Distinguished Service Award by the Atlantic Geoscience Society and the Acadia Faculty of Pure and Applied Science Teaching Award.  

Vancouver Island University has announced that Carol Stuart becomes the university’s next provost and vice-president, academic, as of Feb. 15. She had been serving in interim capacity since July 1, 2018. Dr. Stuart first joined VIU in 2011 as dean of the faculty of health and human services, before taking on the role of associate vice-president, academic. Previously, she held academic appointments at MacEwan University, the University of Victoria and Ryerson University.





Post a comment
University Affairs moderates all comments according to the following guidelines. If approved, comments generally appear within one business day. We may republish particularly insightful remarks in our print edition or elsewhere.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *