Skip navigation
People on the Move

Announcements – September 2018

BY ANQI SHEN | SEP 03 2018

Maribeth Murray has been re-appointed director of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, as of July 1. She was first appointed in 2013 and previously worked at the International Arctic Research Center and in the Northern Studies Program of the University of Alaska, Fairbanks. Dr. Murray is a professor in the department of anthropology and archeology at U of Calgary. She is also a board member of POLAR Knowledge Canada and the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States.

Heather McCaw was appointed the University of British Columbia’s vice-president, development and alumni engagement, starting this fall. A UBC alumna, Ms. McCaw returns after three years as vice-president, advancement at the University of Alberta. Before that she was associate vice-president, development, at UBC and vice-president of Give Canada Fundraising Corporation and Spectrum Marketing Corporation.

Heather Duncan has been reappointed dean of education at Brandon University. She began her first term in 2013 and took on the roles of acting vice-president, academic (2014-15), and associate vice-president, research (2016-18). Prior to that, she was associate department head of professional studies at the University of Wyoming, a high school principal at Erickson Collegiate in Manitoba, and a high school chemistry teacher in Scotland.

Garry Fehr has been appointed associate vice-president, research, engagement and graduate studies, at the University of the Fraser Valley. Dr. Fehr is currently the director of the UFV Agriculture Centre of Excellence and an associate professor in the department of geography and the environment. He begins his new role on Sept. 1.

Alastair Hodges has been named dean of the faculty of health sciences at the University of the Fraser Valley. As an associate professor of kinesiology, Dr. Hodges was most recently department head of that department and acting dean of the faculty of health sciences. He held faculty positions at Dalhousie University and the University of Alberta before coming to UFV in 2011.

King’s University College, affiliated with Western University, has named Jana Gordon the new executive director of alumni and development, effective Aug. 13. Ms. Gordon was assistant vice-president, development, and campaign director at Wilfrid Laurier University, director of development and donor relations at the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, and director of development at the Dallas Symphony Orchestra.

In July, the University of British Columbia named Peter Smailes its new vice-president, finance and operations, a role he has served on an interim basis since January 2018. Mr. Smailes joined UBC in 2001 as associate treasurer, a role he held until 2005. That year he was named interim treasurer before he was appointed to the treasurer role in 2007.

On Oct. 1, Alice J. Hovorka becomes dean of the faculty of environmental studies at York University. She is currently a professor in Queen’s University’s department of geography and planning, and head of the school of environmental studies. Previously, she was a member of the department of geography at the University of Guelph, where she served as acting chair, undergraduate and graduate coordinator, and acting associate dean of research in the college of social and applied human sciences.

Jane Goodyer becomes the new dean of the Lassonde School of Engineering at York University on Oct. 1. She comes to York from Massey University in New Zealand, where she is a professor and has served since 2017 as head of the school of engineering and advanced technology. Prior to that, she was the school’s associate dean for undergraduate teaching and learning.

On July 1, Julia Denholm joined Simon Fraser University as the new dean of lifelong learning. Dr. Denholm was most recently dean of the faculty of arts and sciences at Capilano University, and dean of kálax-ay, Capilano’s Sunshine Coast campus. She has taught at the University of British Columbia and later joined Langara College as instructor and chair of the English department, and division chair of humanities.

The University of the Fraser Valley appointed Marnie Wright associate vice-president, human resources, effective June 18. Ms. Wright was the associate superintendent of human resources for the Abbotsford School District and previously worked for 14 years at the British Columbia Institute of Technology in human resources.

Thomas Loebel was named dean of the faculty of graduate studies and associate vice-president graduate at York University, as of July 1. Dr. Loebel joined York in 1996 and is an associate professor and graduate program director in the department of English. He has been a member of senate’s academic policy, planning and research committee since 2016, serving as its chair over the past year. In 2011-12, he was associate dean, academic and research, in the faculty of graduate studies.

York University has named Rui Wang the first deputy provost of its Markham campus. Dr. Wang was most recently a member of the department of biology at Laurentian University, where he also served as vice-president, research, since 2015. Prior to that, he was vice-president, research, economic development and innovation, at Lakehead University.

Kerry Godfrey is the new dean of the Dhillon School of Business at the University of Lethbridge. Dr. Godfrey has served as associate dean, academic, at the University of Guelph since 2012, and recently as acting dean of the college of business and economics. Previously, he was the director of the school of hospitality and tourism management at U of Guelph from 2008 to 2012.

 Andrew Parnaby has been named dean of the school of arts and social sciences at Cape Breton University, where he is an associate professor of history. Prior to joining CBU in 2003, Dr. Parnaby taught at Dalhousie University and the University of Victoria. He has received CBU’s distinguished teaching award both in 2011 and 2016, and in 2017, he was awarded the Association of Atlantic Universities distinguished teaching award.

Carleton University has named Nik Nanos chair of the board of governors, for a one-year term beginning July 1. Mr. Nanos is the chief data scientist and founder of Nanos Research, a Canadian public opinion and research company.

Huron University College has welcomed Gary Thorne as campus chaplain. Dr. Thorne was previously chaplain to the University of King’s College and Dalhousie University. He holds a PhD in theology from Durham University and is retired with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel from the Canadian Armed Forces.

Karina McInnis has been appointed the University of Guelph’s new associate vice-president, research services, effective Sept. 10. Dr. McInnis is currently the executive director of university research services at Queen’s University. She has held prominent roles with the Canadian Association of Research Administrators and the Consortia Advancing Standards in Research Administration Information.

Post a comment
University Affairs moderates all comments according to the following guidelines. If approved, comments generally appear within one business day. We may republish particularly insightful remarks in our print edition or elsewhere.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *