Skip navigation
People on the Move

Announcements – June 2017

BY ANQI SHEN | JUN 14 2017

Cynthia Murphy has been named director of Dalhousie University’s International Centre. Ms. Murphy was previously director of the Nova Scotia Community College Centre for International Activities and director of organizations such as CONNECT Immigration Projects. She has been social science department head at New Brunswick Community College, Miramichi, since January 2016.

York University has named Debbie Hansen executive director, community support & services, a portfolio that brings together the office of student community relations and the centre for sexual violence response, support and education. Ms. Hansen has been at York for more than 35 years, previously serving as acting director in the office of student affairs, among other roles.

Sheila Cote-Meek has been reappointed Laurentian University’s associate vice-president, academic and Indigenous programs, a role she has held since 2010. Dr. Cote-Meek is a professor in the school of rural and northern health. Prior to that, she was a faculty member in the school of Indigenous relations since 1994.

Joanna Newman is the new secretary general of the Association of Commonwealth Universities. Dr. Newman was previously vice-principal, international, of King’s College London, U.K. – where she is a faculty member – director of the U.K. Higher Education International Unit (now Universities U.K. International) and head of higher education at the British Library.

The University of Manitoba has appointed Lynn Zapshala-Kelln vice-president, administration, effective June 5. Ms. Zapshala-Kelln joins the university from her position as secretary to the treasury board with the department of finance of the Province of Manitoba. She has held various roles in the provincial government and is a chartered professional accountant.

Deborah Saucier will become the next president of MacEwan University on July 1. She steps into the role after six years as provost and vice-president, academic, at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. Prior to that, Dr. Saucier was chair of the department of neuroscience at the University of Lethbridge and held a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in behavioural neuroscience. Originally from Saskatoon, Dr. Saucier is a member of the Central Urban Métis Federation Inc.

Jamie Cassels has been reappointed president and vice-chancellor of the University of Victoria for a second five-year term beginning July 1. Dr. Cassels began his initial five-year term as president in 2013. He has held a number of senior academic and administrative posts since joining UVic in 1981, including dean of law, and provost and vice-president, academic. He also serves as president of the Research Universities Council of BC and chairs the research committee of Universities Canada.

Acadia University has named Peter Ricketts its next president and vice chancellor, effective July 1. Dr. Ricketts was previously provost and vice-president, academic, at Carleton University since 2009. Before that, he held senior administrative roles at Nipissing University, Okanagan University College and Dalhousie University. Dr. Ricketts has served five terms as president of the Coastal Zone Canada Association and, since 2012, has served as director of Ontario Universities International.

St. Paul’s College, affiliated with the University of Manitoba, has reappointed Christopher Adams its rector, effective July 1. He will also serve as chair of the board of the Arthur V. Mauro Centre at the college. Dr. Adams holds a PhD in political science from Carleton University and previously served in roles including vice-president at Probe Research Inc. and adjunct professor at the University of Manitoba’s I.H. Asper School of Business.

Laurentian University has appointed Pierre Zundel interim president and vice-chancellor, from August 21, 2017 to June 30, 2019. Dr. Zundel is currently vice-president, academic and provost at Laurentian and has 13 years of senior administrative experience. He has previously served as dean of Renaissance College at the University of New Brunswick, president and vice-chancellor of the University of Sudbury, and professor and department head at the Université de Moncton.

Denise O’Neil Green has been appointed Ryerson’s first vice-president, equity and community inclusion. The appointment took effect in April. In this newly created role, Dr. O’Neil Green is responsible for creating a strategic plan on equity, diversity and inclusion; providing leadership on inclusive curriculum and pedagogy, and on the collection and reporting of related data; and overseeing a number of offices such as human rights, accessibility and Aboriginal initiatives. She joined Ryerson in 2012 as the inaugural assistant vice-president/vice-provost for equity, diversity and inclusion. She previously served as associate vice-president for institutional diversity at Central Michigan University.

The University of Calgary has appointed John Brown interim dean of the faculty of environmental design, until June 30, 2018. Dr. Brown is a professor in the faculty and previously served as associate dean, research and international. He is a registered architect, founding principal of the architectural firm Housebrand, and fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC).

The University of Saskatchewan has appointed Peta Bonham-Smith dean of the college of arts and science, effective July 1. She has served as dean on an interim basis since 2015. Dr. Bonham-Smith joined the U of S department of biology in 1994 and served as director of the Virtual College of Biotechnology, department head of biology and as vice-dean, sciences.

John Kleefeld will join the University of New Brunswick as dean and professor of law on July 1. He joins UNB from the University of Saskatchewan, where he was an associate law professor. Dr. Kleefeld holds a LLM from York University’s Osgoode Hall Law School and an LLB from the University of British Columbia.

George Iwama has been named Quest University Canada’s next chancellor. Dr. Iwama previously served as president of the University of Northern British Columbia, dean of science at Carleton University and vice-president, academic, and provost at Acadia University. He received his PhD in zoology from the University of British Columbia.

Post a comment
University Affairs moderates all comments according to the following guidelines. If approved, comments generally appear within one business day. We may republish particularly insightful remarks in our print edition or elsewhere.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *